Persistence Pays

Right now, I’m wrestling with a thorny section of my YA novel — revision decisions! I’m struggling, but I’m fighting through it. As I move pieces around and push my story forward inch by inch, I’m in need of a generous dose of persistence. Perhaps you are, too! With this in mind, I’ve gathered together some of my favorite quotes on this most precious of qualities: staying power, stick-to-it-ive-ness, and stalwartness:

“Sure I am of this: you only have to endure to conquer.”
Winston Churchill

“Energy and persistence conquer all things.”
Benjamin Franklin

“The pain of discipline weighs ounces; the pain of regret weighs tons.”
Rob Gilbert

“I never try quitting and I never quit trying.”
Dolly Parton

“I hated every minute of training, but I said to myself, “Don’t quit, suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.”
Muhammad Ali

“The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength or a lack of knowledge but rather a lack of will.”
Vince Lombardi

“There are many hard things in life. There is only one sad thing – giving up.”
Susan Butcher

“Gold medals are not made of gold. They’re made of sweat, determination, and a
hard-to-find alloy called guts.”
Dan Gable

“The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is that little extra.”
Jimmy Johnson

“Let me tell you the secret that has led me to my goal. My strength lies
solely in my tenacity.”
Louis Pasteur

“Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.”
Calvin Coolidge

“If you have no failures, you haven’t tried hard enough.”
Sally Jesse Raphael

“Persistence always breaks down resistance.”
Willy Jolly

I hope these thoughts and words inspire and fortify you. Write on!

About karinwritesdangerously

I am a writer and this is a motivational blog designed to help both writers and aspiring writers to push to the next level. Key themes are peak performance, passion, overcoming writing roadblocks, juicing up your creativity, and the joys of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Persistence Pays

  1. Toby Stein says:

    i wrote a longish comment, full of wisdom. Hit the wrong button. No time to recreate it–probably a good thing because the sore idea is brief. i wish you good luck. But I PRAY for you to persist. Because luck is chance, whereas persistence is in your control. Toby

Leave a Reply

