Limbo Rock

“Every limbo boy and girl
All around the limbo world
Gonna do the limbo rock
All around the limbo clock.”

As soon as I typed the word “limbo,” this song popped into my head. Guess I’m doing the limbo rock. Translation: I’m in a holding pattern with my novel while I wait to hear from a small group of agents. I plan to use their feedback as a bellwether to see if I need to do more fine tuning before launching a major submissions drive.

Needless to say, being in limbo is well…being in limbo. I’m feeling betwixt and between, which is wearing me out a bit. What to do, what to do? Stay calm and carry on. Easier said than done. Even so, what not to do is pretty clear:

Pull out my hair: Just kidding! By this, I mean getting all hot and bothered because I’m not hearing back as quickly as I like. This is definitely one situation where patience pays. “Keep cool, kid” — that’s my mantra for the moment.

Major surgery: While I’m on “limbo clock” time, I’m tempted to start second guessing myself. This could lead to me trying to figure out what people want and retooling my manuscript to give it to them. Definitely a bad idea! I believe in my story and in all the work I’ve done to strengthen it. So I need to hang tough, solicit helpful feedback, and keep working to identify the agent who’ll love my book.

Sit on my hands: I may be in limbo, but I need to make it work for me, instead of against me. So instead of playing the “waiting game,” I’m going to do the “limbo rock” — that is, keep moving. There are steps I can take each day to advance steadily toward my goal of moving from manuscript to publication. If I keep actively exploring my options, I’m much more likely to come up with a winning strategy than if I just sit back and simply wait to see what happens.

Any techniques for managing one of those “limbo” states that work well for you? If so, I’d love to hear about them. Write on!

About karinwritesdangerously

I am a writer and this is a motivational blog designed to help both writers and aspiring writers to push to the next level. Key themes are peak performance, passion, overcoming writing roadblocks, juicing up your creativity, and the joys of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Limbo Rock

  1. Don’t know what happened to my earlier attempt to comment. This song, Limbo Rock, served as an earworm a couple month ago. Ii have 3 parody-songs bsed on it posted on my blog-site which you might enjoy providedunderstand

Leave a Reply

