Ten Words

“If it is to be, it is up to me.”

A story: Once upon a time, there was a wise man who traveled from village to village giving people sage advice. He was beloved by all, except two men, who were jealous of him. Finally, one of the men said to the other, “I’ve come up with a way to trick the wise man so that no one will believe anything he says anymore.

“I’m going to hide a butterfly in my hands, and go to the wise man in front of everyone and ask him, ‘Is the butterfly I’m holding alive or dead?’ If he says it’s alive, I’ll close my hands ever so slightly and crush it. If he says it’s dead, I’ll open my hands and let it go.”

The day when the wise man was visiting finally came. The man waited his turn and then asked him, “O wise one, is the butterfly I’m holding alive or dead?” Without skipping a beat, the wise man said, “It’s in your hands. It’s your choice.”

I love the 10 two-letter words quoted above and this story from Dr. Rob Gilbert’s Success Hotline (973.743.4690). They remind me that no matter what’s happening to me or around me, it’s what’s happening inside me that counts.

And the same is true for all of us. We are the ones who need to decide what we want to have happen and then take steps to bring it to fruition. In the end, there’s nothing that can really stop us, but ourselves. If we don’t quit, we can’t fail. If we keep going — no matter what — we’ll get there:

If we keep wrestling with a story that’s giving us a hard time, we’ll get there.

If we keep sending out our submissions, despite rejection, we’ll get there.

If we stay true to our beliefs about what we want to say, we’ll get there.

“If it is to be, it is up to me.” Words to take to heart as we all write on.

About karinwritesdangerously

I am a writer and this is a motivational blog designed to help both writers and aspiring writers to push to the next level. Key themes are peak performance, passion, overcoming writing roadblocks, juicing up your creativity, and the joys of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

