Why Write?

“I lik Riting time becrs I can get my feings out. you cant kep your hot felings in sid of you you mit get sec.”
Kid’s composition

Sometimes automatic pilot takes over in just about every phase of our life. We get up, get dressed, have a cup of java and almost sleepwalk through our day. When this happens, our writing can seem flat and lackluster — we’re just not bringing the joy, the curiosity, the
energy to it that gives it life, that makes it sing and dance. At times like these, it helps to stop and ask ourselves why we’re doing what we’re doing — why we’re writing. Just the simple act of doing this can help us rediscover the joy and sense of excitement that we
bring to our work when we’re most engaged, when we’re most alive on the page.

To inspire your reflection in this direction, I offer here some of the ponderings of other writers on this same subject. They are gleaned from a dog-eared copy of a wonderful workbook called “Free Yourself to Write” by Dr. Joan Minninger:

I want to live other lives. I’ve never quite believed that one chance is all I get. Writing is my way of making other chances.”  Anne Tyler

“I don’t know when I shall succeed in not writing; the obsession, the compulsion date back half a century. The little finger of my right hand is somewhat bent, because when writing, the right hand supports itself like a kangaroo on its tail. Within me a tired mind
continues the gourmet search, looking for a better word, better than better.”  Colette

“the joy…is the surprise of what’s going to happen and knowing that if I just let it happen, it will happen.”  Judy Blume

“But I’ll get there. I feel it in me — like a woman having a baby, all that life churning on inside of me. I feel it everyday: it moves, stretches, yawns…it’s getting ready to get born. It knows exactly what it is.”  Maurice Sendak

“…it is a good thing I never took courses or read books on how to write. I say that it would have spoiled my natural style… it would have hedged me about with rules….When it came to writing, I just followed where my intuition led me.”  Isaac Asimov

“When I write a line that sings itself in my own heart, I pay myself a thousand times.”
Edmond Rostand, from Cyrano de Bergerac

So, refreshed and reinspired, let’s all write on!

About karinwritesdangerously

I am a writer and this is a motivational blog designed to help both writers and aspiring writers to push to the next level. Key themes are peak performance, passion, overcoming writing roadblocks, juicing up your creativity, and the joys of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Write?

  1. Bing Chang says:

    I write because the pictures in my head is too elusive until I can paint them in words especially poetically. Unfortunately English is not my mother tongue, and I have to struggle in writing while learning.

  2. Your introductory quote reminds me of a llne in the childhood diary of American writer Jane Bowles: “Teacher says I cant spell so what.”

Leave a Reply

