e-Book Awards

It’s heartening to know that e-books continue to be a dynamic publishing option garnering growing exposure for authors. One of the best-known avenue for recognition is the Writer’s Digest Self-published e-Book Awards. Deadline: August 1, 2016.

Just in case any KWD readers want to throw their proverbial hats into the ring, here are some specifics:

All English-language e-books published between 2011 and 2016 are eligible. Entries will be evaluated on content, writing quality and overall quality of production and appearance. There are 8 independently judged categories:

Mainstream/Literary Fiction
Genre Fiction (Romance, Horror, Science Fiction, Humor, etc.)
Nonfiction (General, Cookbooks, Reference, Guidebooks, Textbooks)
Inspirational (Spiritual, New Age)
Life Stories (Biographies, Autobiographies, Family Histories, Memoirs)
Children’s Picture books
Middle-Grade/Young Adult
Poetry

One Grand Prize winner will receive:

$5,000 in cash
A feature article in the May/June 2017 Writer’s Digest
Winner’s name featured on the Writer’s Digest cover
A paid trip to the Writer’s Digest Conference
30-minute platform & marketing consultation
$200 worth of Writer’s Digest books
One year Subscription (new or renewal) to Writer’s Digest magazine

One First Prize winner in each category will receive:

$1,000 in cash
Promotion in the May/June 2017 issue of Writer’s Digest
$100 worth of Writer’s Digest books
One-year Writer’s Digest magazine subscription

You must register and submit your e-book online. You may enter more
than one book and/or more than one category; however, each book must
be submitted separately and there is an additional fee for each entry.

Inspired by luck and pluck, let’s all write on!

About karinwritesdangerously

I am a writer and this is a motivational blog designed to help both writers and aspiring writers to push to the next level. Key themes are peak performance, passion, overcoming writing roadblocks, juicing up your creativity, and the joys of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to e-Book Awards

  1. Karin, isn’t the entry fee for this competition quite high? Something like $90 or $100? Pretty steep. I entered a couple of years ago. Writer’s Digest gives every entry a critique, based on different points. On Characters and Plot I got a fair score–the judge liked my main character and the Manhattan setting. On production, I got a low score, but I agreed–the cover was not very good, the print on the back cover (white on yellow) was unreadable, and I did not justify right margins in the text. On the final score–grammar, spelling, consistency, etc.–I got the lowest score. I was surprised. I have made a living as a copy-editor, proofreader, line editor, etc., for many years. I’ve worked for publishers, on an encyclopedia, and on The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language. I was copy chief at Ladies’ Home Journal. And before I published my book, I had a professional editor go over it; she suggested I move an important scene forward in the plot. I wonder who the judge was? I’d like him/her to point out any misspellings and grammar mistakes so that I can correct them for the next edition.

Leave a Reply

