Mystery Award

“As electronic publishing has become a significant element of the publishing world,
we decided to recognize an outstanding work of mystery fiction by offering a substantial advance and a great opportunity for world-wide recognition. Our goal is to acknowledge the outstanding work being produced in this format and reward it appropriately.”
Otto Penzler, President and Publisher of

The publishing landscape continues to shift and evolve — and much of this change is good news for us as writers. One example that some of us may want to take note of is an annual Mysterious Press Award given for the best e-book original mystery novel. The winning entry receives a prize of $25,000 and guaranteed world-wide publication. This year’s winner will be announced at the 2016 Frankfurt Book Fair.

The $25,000 prize is an advance against future royalties. The winner will be published as an e-book original by along wih print-on-demand copies.

This annual contest is open to established authors and first-time novelists. Submissions of full-length, unpublished novels are accepted only from accredited literary agents. The contest is open to all categories: Traditional detective stories, hard-boiled, noir, police procedural, suspense, crime, historical, humor—any book which has as the central theme of its plot a crime, or the threat of a crime.

While this year’s award selection is already under way, the upcoming contest should kick off early in 2017 — just a few months away. So if you have a mystery in the works or one already you plan to release as an e-book and you have agent representation, you may want to think about throwing your hat in the ring.

Amazing, isn’t it, how many opportunities for gaining exposure are cropping up and taking root? The more contests and awards there are for both traditionally and non-traditionally published books, the greater the possibility for reaching new audiences with our work. Write on!


About karinwritesdangerously

I am a writer and this is a motivational blog designed to help both writers and aspiring writers to push to the next level. Key themes are peak performance, passion, overcoming writing roadblocks, juicing up your creativity, and the joys of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mystery Award

  1. Otto Penzler! There’s a familiar name. My long story “Dead Rock Singer” was chosen for his anthology “Best American Mystery Stories.” That was way back in 2000. Wish I had a new mystery to enter in this contest. Wish I had an agent! If wishes were horses….

  2. Hi Martha,

    Wow — that’s amazing to hear that you worked with Otto Penzler.
    The contest sounds like a great one, but the agent requirement
    is challenging. Who knows? The new contest doesn’t kick off
    until early in 2017 and is open for a few month, so there’s time
    to spare — anything might happen!

    Write on,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s