Your Ship

“I’m not afraid of storms, for I’m learning how to sail my ship.”
“I’m not afraid of storms, for I’m learning how to sail my ship.”

“My book came out; and people began to think that topsy-turvy Louisa would amount to something after all.”

“Some books are so familiar, that reading them is like being home again.”

“I like good strong words that mean something…”
Louisa May Alcott

This is the great Louisa May Alcott’s birthday; she was born November 29, 1832 and became one of the most beloved and successful authors of her time. Today’s gorgeous Google banner is an homage to her classic, Little Women — be sure to check it out!

Louisa, like her beloved character “Jo March,” was a tomboy who loved to race through the woods. “No boy could be my friend till I had beaten him in a race,” she once said, “and no girl if she refused to climb trees, leap fences…” She went on nature walks with the great Henry David Thoreau and was fond of visiting the library of her
neighbor Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Writing proved to be an early passion for Louisa and as a child, fantastic melodramas sprang from her pen, which she and her sisters acted out for their friends with gusto. At age 15, troubled by her family’s poverty, she stubbornly vowed: “I will do something by and by. Don’t care what, teach, sew, act, write, anything to help the
family; and I’ll be rich and famous and happy before I die, see if I won’t!”

Society’s limited views of women’s work didn’t stand a chance in the face of Louisa’s determination: “…I will make a battering ram of my head and make my way through this rough and tumble world.” For years, she did just that, as a teacher, seamstress, household servant — anything she could find to earn a little money.

Enormously tenacious, she launched her career as an author by writing poetry and short stories for popular magazines. In 1854, at the age of 22, she published her first book, Flower Fables. When she was 35, her published asked Louisa if she could conjure up “a book for girls.” Little Women was written in a matter of months, from May to
July 1868. Set in New England during the Civil War, it was largely based on her
own family life.

Jo March, her one-of-a-kind heroine, is widely considered to be the first living, breathing girl to appear in American literature, which was awash in idealized images of childhood. Little Women was an instant success and during her career, 30 books
and collections of stories poured from Louisa’s creative and determined pen.

May her imagination and persistence be an inspiration to us all as we boldly sail our own ships on a sea of words — write on!

About karinwritesdangerously

I am a writer and this is a motivational blog designed to help both writers and aspiring writers to push to the next level. Key themes are peak performance, passion, overcoming writing roadblocks, juicing up your creativity, and the joys of writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Your Ship

  1. seegogga says:

    Thank you for the interesting blog.I loved Louisa’s books when I was a teenager and have quite a collection. So sad that my children never really got onto reading them and enjoying them as I did.

Leave a Reply

